Stovetop Potpourri

Everyone loves having their house smell wonderful. Whether its freshly clean, a Christmas tree, or a candle, we all appreciate a nice smelling home. I like most others buy candles, and inherited quite a few from my Mom. The problem is the chemical release that these put in the air. My youngest Alex has asthma, so “air fresheners” like candles, or sprays are not the best for him. This doesn’t mean I don’t still have scented candles, and don’t light them from time to time, but this is a good alternative.

I had remembered my sister telling me about how she makes her own stovetop potpourri and how it great it made her house smell. I finally got around to doing it myself! So thanks for the idea Meg!

I have found a few options on Pinterest that were enticing, and settled on a fall one.
PotpourriPeel 1-2 oranges

3 cinnamon sticks

1 1/2 tablespoon of cloves

1 teaspoon of pumpkin spice

teaspoon vanilla extract

Fill a pot of water and combine all the ingredients.  Simmer for the duration desired. Add water as needed. The best part is it can be refrigerated, and used again!

 

The house smells like fall, and makes it so cozy. This is especially welcome since we had fish last night for dinner, and eggs for breakfast. All the odors are gone!

I will definitely be exploring some more combinations. Consider me hooked!

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Leave a Reply

