That time we moved.

It has been just over a full month and I haven’t been entirely honest. We did in fact move. We got the house we wanted and have settled in at this point. I let, a VERY small handful of people know that I was actually moving. Even fewer people know where I actually am. It is the closest to running away I have ever done.
The chaos that has ensued in the last month has been insane. I have decided to blame any and all weight gain on this last month. Everything has been so time sensitive and we feel extremely blessed for this. It was a funny story how we obtained the house.
Eli actually knew the owners of our home. He installed their fence years ago. Whenever he was in town the owner would call to see if he needed lunch or anything. For date nights, if we came up this way, he would point out the house and say, “I love that house, we are going to live there.” I would laugh at him, and tell him no. I didn’t even think I liked the house!
So imagine my surprise when I saw a house online listed and showed it to Eli. The conversation went along the lines of:
“Oh hey Hun check out this house I found. Its in blah blah and its really nice”
Eli came and sat down, looks at the screen, jumps up, runs down the hall going “no no no no!”
Um, well if you hate it that much.
He came back in a couple minutes later laughing and talking away on the phone. It was his clients house! They wanted us to come over immediately and look at everything. We dropped the kids off with Eli’s Mom and headed up to check it out. Well I couldn’t be more shocked that I fell in love with the house. It is an 1800’s farmhouse, that has been completely gutted and remodeled.
our home
I can’t begin to describe how much I love that front porch. Most of my free time is spent out there. It was also the first place I hosted friends over 🙂
After going over details and having some spiked coffee (thank you Jan) it was decided we were buying the house.Not just on our end but the owners. They felt this was meant to be. The wife had put her heart and soul into the remodel. Their move came up sudden due to a job relocation, and many tears were shed over leaving the house. I can’t say enough that the owners are amazing. They had the boys come over twice to come play and have dinner. I had come over a few more times just to talk. It was all unreal. We had hit some major bumps which was why I didn’t confirm about the house. We still chat, and Jan gives me tips on what to do with the garden.
We also still need to sell our house. Noooo pressure.

The boys share a room here and love it. Their bunkbeds should be coming in this week, and they have so much space.
Boy's Bunkbeds
We use the other big bedroom as their playroom, and the smaller one as a guest room. We already had my Mother in Law stay over, and it was really nice.
We live right smack dab in the center of town which is phenomenal. I walk to the Farmer’s Market from the house, do grocery, get coffee, or just browse the Main St shops. I can hear the train (from decently far, not too loud), and the towns churchbells. Our town is a very old New England Town that has an incredibly nostalgic feel. We have historic homes all around, and the water is a half hour (leisurely) walk away. My friend pointed out if I ran it would probably be 15 minutes. Our neighbors are absolutely lovely, we were greeted with fresh eggs, flowers, vegetables from their gardens, and warm welcomes.
The boys have quite a few friends in the neighborhood, and love to have pick up games of soccer right after school. One of Colin’s classmates lives 2 doors over, and they very quickly have become good friends. The dogs are also more welcome here. People don’t bat an eye if one of the dogs bark. Almost every house on our street has a dog living in it. Our neighbors even offered to come over so the dogs could get to know them!
We love being able to walk to school, the library, or just the town green. The boys love being walking distance from the frozen yogurt shop. Boys. I guess its important to show, I do have happiness. I am grateful for this home, and feel we could stay here forever. With that we made some sacrifices with this house. We are far away from any family up here. My Mother In Law is a half hour away. The time has come to get over it and get a babysitter. The house is also bigger, which is a lot more cleaning. Its getting easier with a system in place. We really take joy in keeping up the yard, and the boys LOVE the backyard. You can see why:
Our backyard

I’m going to take my time decorating and finding the right touches in the house. If I’m not on the porch, you’ll find me in the kitchen
Kitchen <3

I look forward to making new memories here. I am happy I finally posted this so I can actually post pictures from in the house.
To those I didn’t tell, it wasn’t to be mean. Please understand how much I’ve gone through, and was just protecting my own heart with this. To those who found out, but didn’t ask? Well its a privilege to know these things, not a right. This needed to be on my terms. I have been grateful for the people that have been warm and happy for me about this. Negativity just gives added stress. Stress, and drama that I don’t need, and can’t handle right now.

Top Mommy Blogs - Click To Vote!

One thought on “That time we moved.

Leave a Reply

