“Every flower must grown through dirt”

It has certainly been awhile since I have blogged. I think it took a month for me to get my bearings again. I’m definitely not perfect, and I don’t believe there should be a “handbook” on how to get over the loss of a loved one. Life is still strange. I want to call my Mom. Tell her of whats going on in my life. To gossip, laugh, plan trips, go shopping, whine, cry, banter, even argue with her. I miss “chemo party Monday’s”. I stand by taking life more seriously. Understanding just how precious it is.

I had seen this on buzzfeed, and feel its a pretty good share on how my relationship was with my Mom. Enjoy if you please ๐Ÿ™‚

 

So, the past month. We have had Read Across America Day. If you don’t have children, this is a day that is typically themed at the schools to encourage children to read. This year the theme was Dr Suess. I have to say, our town’s elementary school certainly goes all out. They transformed all the hallways with truffula trees. Turned the cafeteria into Whoville. Made the entrance to the library into the land of Unless. Finally, the gym was a Truffula tree forest, complete with a built theater for the kids to watch some Dr Suess movies. Colin went dressed as the Lorax. It was a craft. but well worth it! I found an orange zip up hoodie at Target. Then I grabbed some yellow, and orange felt at Michaels and made a mustache and eyebrows. Some hot glue, and elastic later voila! A Lorax costume!!

 

Colin's costume

Colin’s costume

At some point last month I decided to do what I had considered a laughable pin. The Rigatoni Pie Pin!

 

The end result:

 

Rigatoni Pie

Rigatoni Pie

Delicious!!! It wasn’t that difficult. Once the cooked pasta was mixed with some Parmesan cheese it needed to be fitted in the spring form pan. That took a couple of minutes, but it was definitely worth it!!!

Another project that was crossed off the list was converting our fireplace back to wood burning. We have a beautiful fireplace that was converted to propane. While the rest of the family room is a work in progress, I was excited to get this done. I felt spoiled to get to finally enjoy it.

fire

 

Other than that I’ve been trying to dive back into work. I find keeping myself busy is a blessing! Hopefully we have some more announcements coming up that I can’t wait to share ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

